New Jersey cities with the most churches
- Lakewood: 695
- Newark: 495
- Jersey City: 228
- Paterson: 182
- Trenton: 170
- Elizabeth: 128
- Camden: 112
- East Orange: 100
- Irvington: 98
- Passaic: 98
Most common denominations in New Jersey
Counted from church names that include a denomination word.
- Baptist: 587
- Jewish: 295
- Pentecostal: 225
- United Methodist: 221
- Presbyterian: 198
- Lutheran: 184
- Church of God: 164
- Assemblies of God: 149
- Nondenominational/Community: 143
- Bible church: 129
Sample: churches in Lakewood
| Church | Street address | Denomination (from name) |
|---|---|---|
| A F I | 111 Clifton Ave | Not stated |
| Aderes Eliyahu Inc | 323 E 5th St | Not stated |
| Ahavas Hatorah Ttah Inc | 55 Lucy Rd | Not stated |
| Albert Kollel Inc | 786 Marlin Ave | Not stated |
| American Friends Of The Yeshiva Knesset Hezekiah Of Kefar Hasidim< | 1072 Madison Ave | Not stated |
| American Theological Center Corp | 214 Caronetta Dr | Not stated |
| Amit Org Inc | 1072 Madison Ave Suite D3 | Not stated |
| Anshei Eagle Ridge Inc | 42 Skyline Dr | Not stated |
| Aspen Heights Shul Inc | 1920 Swarthmore Ave Ste 5 | Not stated |
| Ateres Shalom Inc | 58 Birch St | Not stated |
| B M Of Pine St Inc | 395 Warren Ave | Not stated |
| Bahais Of Lakewood Township | 142 Oakland St N | Not stated |
| Bais Aharon Inc | 139 Hillside Blvd | Not stated |
| Bais Chinuch L Bonos Bayis Ruchel | 115 Carey St | Not stated |
| Bais Elchonon Inc | 205 New Egypt Apt B | Not stated |
| Bais Hachasidim Broadway Inc | 43 Broadway Ave | Not stated |
| Bais Hamedrash Of Westgate Inc | 100 Ropeshitz Ave | Not stated |
| Bais Hillel Inc | 11 Belgian Hill Rd | Not stated |
| Bais Malka Of Lakewood Inc | 388 Chestnut St | Not stated |
| Bais Medrash Bais Yitzchok Inc | 124 11th St | Not stated |
The full list includes all 8,230 New Jersey churches with EIN, city, ZIP and ruling year, plus every other state.
Where does this data come from?
The IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, downloaded in October 2026. Figures are as reported on each organization's latest return on file with the IRS. Personal contact names are not included.